Ace On Sunday #8

Ace Double Header

Last Sunday I began a new Ace Double book, serial number 58880 to be precise which contained two novels by Swedish author Sam J. Lundwall (here). The first story, No Time For Heroes was a strange and slightly campy romp which I thoroughly enjoyed. Today I’ve flipped over the volume to reveal another odd sounding novel which has this as its tagline;

Terra through the science fiction looking glass

To make things a little more odd, this novel (like last week’s story) features a wonderfully bizarre cover painting from the talented Josh Kirby. The picture shows an urbanised planet-scape from an elevated viewpoint, a humanoid robotic figure stands in the foreground as a young female dressed in classic Alice In Wonderland garb plays with a skipping rope on the roof of a building behind him. Curiouser and curiouser…

I’m looking forward to reading this one today after my first taste of Lundwall last week, something tells me I’m in for a few twists and turns along the way. Please feel free to share your thoughts via the comments and do come back next weekend when I’ll be making a fresh choice of Ace Double from the unsubscriber library shelves.

Alice’s World by Sam J. Lundwall
(Serial Number 58880)
This version was published in 1971 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

58880 - Alice's World by Sam J. Lundwall

2 thoughts on “Ace On Sunday #8

  1. John C Nash 29/02/2016 / 9:40 pm

    Certainly a peculiar one this week! Once in a while you can get a faint idea of what’s in store with a book by the cover art. I’m totally at a loss with this one. Is it as weird as the cover suggests?
    I love the lettering on that title though. Could a typeface be more 1970s?

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 01/03/2016 / 3:20 pm

      I couldn’t agree with you more on this one Mr Nash, it is indeed a bizarre cover and ended up being an extremely odd although pleasing read. The typeface really caught my eye too when I came across the book, it screams of the seventies as you rightly comment. I just hope I can follow up these two Josh Kirby covers in the coming weeks as they’re a tough act to follow. All the best as ever my friend, see you soon I hope.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

