Off The Shelf; Henry Kuttner

The first of Kuttner’s books I bought was ‘The Best Of Henry Kuttner’, a single volume collection of short stories and novelettes by the US author which I thought was a great read. I then discovered the two volume ‘Best Of’ books at a relatively low price on eBay which added a further twelve stories to the ones I already had and promptly grabbed those too. I have since expanded my collection of his works quite considerably and have enjoyed everything I’ve completed so far.

Kuttner also worked under a variety of different pseudonyms which can confuse his bibliography somewhat, especially the novels written with C. L. Moore which were usually credited to Lewis Padgett. I’ve decided to include a couple of Padgett titles at the end of this post as I thought the cover art was great albeit sadly uncredited.

The Best Of Henry Kuttner by Henry Kuttner
This version was published in 1975 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Best Of Henry Kuttner by Henry Kuttner

The Dark World by Henry Kuttner
This version was published in 1966 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Dark World by Henry Kuttner

The Best Of Kuttner 1 by Henry Kuttner
This version was published in 1965 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is Jacks

The Best Of Kuttner 1 by Henry Kuttner

The Best Of Kuttner 2 by Henry Kuttner
This version was published in 1966 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is Jacks

The Best Of Kuttner 2 by Henry Kuttner

Return To Otherness by Henry Kuttner
This version was published in 1965 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Return To Otherness by Henry Kuttner

Bypass To Otherness by Henry Kuttner
This version was published in 1963 by Consul Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Bypass To Otherness by Henry Kuttner

Tomorrow And Tomorrow by Lewis Padgett
This version was published in 1963 by Consul Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Tomorrow And Tomorrow by Lewis Padgett

The Far Reality by Lewis Padgett
This version was published in 1963 by Consul Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Far Reality by Lewis Padgett

20 thoughts on “Off The Shelf; Henry Kuttner

    • Joachim Boaz 09/03/2016 / 2:52 pm

      I see that there’s a signature on your cover… Perhaps it’s sort of easier to see?

      Like

      • Joachim Boaz 09/03/2016 / 2:54 pm

        I could be completely wrong. It certainly looks familiar.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 10/03/2016 / 5:47 pm

        Thanks for the suggestion Joachim, I checked out your link and see what mean. When I photographed this cover, I zoomed in to see if I could make any sense of the signature but is too illegible to read. The first letter is definitely a P though so I guess that rules out Brillhart. Shame though, it’s a great cover. All the best.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 10/03/2016 / 6:08 pm

        Thanks for the suggestion but I thought the signature looked too long to be Lehr, it’s a complete conundrum and no mistake!

        Like

      • Joachim Boaz 10/03/2016 / 6:11 pm

        Haha, I know. The style, the style… All these images are coming to mind with the same strokes but I can’t think of titles to find said images for comparison!

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 10/03/2016 / 6:52 pm

        Hmmm… I’m still not sure Joachim. There are certainly strong artistic similarities but the signature doesn’t seem to match. I guess we’ll never know the answer to this one. Thanks for your input though, always appreciated.

        Like

      • Joachim Boaz 10/03/2016 / 7:18 pm

        Gah, our lives would be so much easier if they simply attributed the covers on the inside flap. I have no idea why they didn’t. The art really does means something…

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 10/03/2016 / 7:34 pm

        I totally agree, so many books have brilliant but uncredited covers. Seems a shame not to acknowledge the work of the artist who has created the visual aesthetic for the novel it adorns.

        Like

      • Joachim Boaz 10/03/2016 / 9:50 pm

        I know we’ve gone the gamut… but, if you have a better Powers signature I would compare as well. The form in the bottom right seems to be very much a Powers “rock” thing. I know, we’ve essentially listed all the main artists of the day!

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 10/03/2016 / 9:54 pm

        We certainly have, I’ll check for a better Powers sig in the morning and see how they compare. I’m determined to get to the bottom of this now.

        Like

      • Joachim Boaz 11/03/2016 / 10:48 pm

        The stone thing in the bottom right has convinced me that it is Powers. And yeah, perhaps the signature is “indecipherable” but… stylistically I think it’s a go…

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 18/03/2016 / 10:00 am

        I think you’re probably right Joachim, I reckon this is probably the closest we’ll get to solving this particular problem. Thanks for your input, always appreciated. All the best my friend.

        Like

      • Joachim Boaz 10/03/2016 / 6:13 pm

        And, there’s a signature for comparison!

        Like

  1. Guy 10/03/2016 / 1:46 am

    Hi Wow

    I have the first collection you show in your post but have not seen any of the rest, despite collecting any Kuttner I come across. Since Mayflower-Dell Books seem to be released in the UK I suspect not many make it across the pond but I will certainly be looking. I like all of them but THE Dark World and the 2 volume Best of set that follows it are stunning. I am not familiar with Jacks, but I really like his work. It was great to see some new covers I had not seen before.

    Thanks for sharing
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 10/03/2016 / 5:56 pm

      Thanks Guy, glad to hear you’re a fan of Kuttner too. You’re totally right about the Mayflower-Dell editions being UK only, glad that this post is bringing them to your attention and you manage to find copies for your collection. I have a few other covers by Jeff Jacks and they’re all done in the same kind of style which I think is brilliant, I’d like to learn more about this artist but information appears to be very limited. This is a list of his known covers http://www.isfdb.org/cgi-bin/ea.cgi?108351
      Thanks again for dropping by my friend and all the very best to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

