Ace On Sunday #12

Ace Double Header

Last Sunday, I selected a new Ace Double book from the unsubscriber library shelves and spent a very pleasant day in the company of Brian M. Stableford (here). Today I’m turning over the book and reading Seed Of The Dreamers by Emil Petaja. I must confess that my only other experience of Petaja’s work has been through an Ace Double so I’m not particularly familiar with his oeuvre.

The inside cover blurb leads me to think that this novel may well be a somewhat pulpish romp;

Brad Mantee, starcop on the galaxy’s rim, was on a routine mission when everything started to go wrong. His perfect record with Star Control, the vast network of galactic dictatorship, slipped suddenly into oblivion as he found himself in hot pursuit of the madman who had stolen his ship and with it, the secret that could cost him his career – at the very least.

Unfortunately, Brad’s best chance was through the madman’s daughter, a girl from the one organization Star Control most detested. Their search led them ultimately to a primitive and uncharted planet where fiction became fact and dreams became flesh, but where also lurked a threat of universal slavery more total than man had ever known…

The Gray Morrow cover artwork is not as psychedelically inclined as Jack Gaughan’s piece on the flip side of the book but does feature some lovely touches like the geometric curves and speckled background. Of course I have to add extra points for the inclusion of the gun-toting mechanoid.

Ok then Brad, let’s see what you’ve got old chap! I shall be here as usual next Sunday to share my latest Ace Double selection so do please join me then. If you have any thoughts about today’s novel of this series in general, feel free to share them in the comments.

Seed Of The Dreamers by Emil Pataja
(Serial Number 06707)
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Gray Morrow

06707 - Seed Of The Dreamers by Emil Petaja

4 thoughts on “Ace On Sunday #12

  1. Joachim Boaz 27/03/2016 / 12:17 pm

    This has to be one of Morrow’s best covers…. I’ve never been blown away by his work before!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 27/03/2016 / 1:23 pm

      Thanks Joachim, it’s a cracking piece isn’t it? Definitely the best cover I’ve seen by him. All the best as ever.

      Like

  2. lcmt 27/03/2016 / 3:52 pm

    Speckled texture and enigmatic geometry-like lines are much appreciated by me. And I always enjoy an artist’s depiction of an idealized face: I was impressed by the manly grimace combined with the full-almost-pouting lower lip. The name “Gray Morrow” rang a distant bell with me. Looking him up on Wikipedia, I realized I must have read comics he had drawn and inked–he was a co-creator of Marvel’s Man-Thing. Then I discovered he is the illustrator of The Illustrated Roger Zelazny. We have a rather worn copy of that book in the bookstore where I work.

    Like

  3. Guy 28/03/2016 / 12:50 am

    Hi I enjoyed The Blind Worm, I felt it started particularly well with a very interesting setting, the Wildland and some great characters, especially the Blind Worm and Jose Dragon. I thought it wandered a bit after that but overall it was a good read. I am looking forward to Seed of the Dreamer, the more I study the Grey Morrow cover the more it grows on me. I am more familiar with Petaja from his work with the Bokanalia Foundation, dedicated to the memory of his friend Hannes Bok, a great Weird Tales artist who I have always been fond of, so I will be interested in experiencing his writing.

    Happy Reading
    Guy

    Like

Leave a Reply

