Off The Shelf; Philip José Farmer

This time I’ve decided to pull eight books by Philip José Farmer from the shelves of my library for closer inspection. I came to Farmer quite late on, only discovering him through a title from 1962 called Alley God which I picked up due to it’s wonderful Richard Powers cover. I thought it was a pretty good read and so started buying other titles as I came across them. I’ve enjoyed most of his work so far particularly the 1960 collection Strange Relations which is highly imaginative and suitably twisted.

The first two covers presented below feature gloriously psychedelic paintings by Bill Botton. There is a third title in this series (The Gates Of Creation) but I haven’t managed to find it through any of my various sources or contacts as yet, I live in hope however. The remaining books have quite differently styled covers ranging from the beautiful to the bizarre.

Let me know your thoughts on this selection in the comments and feel free to share any recommendations as I always like to hear what others have enjoyed reading.

A Private Cosmos by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1970 by Sphere Books
The cover artist is Bill Botton

A Private Cosmos by Philip Jose Farmer

The Maker Of Universes by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1970 by Sphere Books
The cover artist is Bill Botton

Maker Of Universes by Philip Jose Farmer

The Green Odyssey by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1957 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Green Odyssey by Philip Jose Farmer

The Lovers by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1961 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Lovers by Philip Jose Farmer

Tongues Of The Moon by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1970 by Pyramid Books
The cover artist is not credited

Tongues Of The Moon by Philip Jose Farmer

The Stone God Awakens by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1973 by Ace Books
The cover artist is J. H. Breslow

The Stone God Awakens by Philip Jose Farmer

Behind The Walls Of Terra by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1975 by Sphere
The cover artist is Peter Goodfellow

Behind The Walls Of Terra by Philip Jose Farmer

Time’s Last Gift by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1975 by Panther Granada Books
The cover artist is by Peter Tybus

Time's Last Gift by Philip Jose Farmer

4 thoughts on “Off The Shelf; Philip José Farmer

  1. Guy 06/04/2016 / 5:48 pm

    Hi

    I always love seeing the covers you pick, they are often quite different from the ones I am used to seeing in the stores here. The first two by Bill Botton are really striking. I thought it was interesting that the cover by Peter Goodfellow was the most literal, I liked his covers for the Mayflower edition of Vance’s Planet of Adventure so much that I bought all four, but they seem totally unrelated to the stories. I then bought the same series by Ace and Daw books $$ so “someday” I can put out a post comparing and contrasting them. (Move up on things to do list ) But I digress, anyway I really enjoyed your selection.

    PS I of course love the covers by Richard Powers, that goes without saying. But I just did.

    Happy Reading
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 10/04/2016 / 8:14 pm

      Why thank you Guy, kind words and good to know I’m doing something right here at unsubscribed. The Botton covers are fantastic and quite hard to find now, I’m still looking for the third title in that series. I always enjoy a Goodfellow cover, I haven’t read this particular title as yet so I’ll have to take your word on it’s literalism. Your comparison article sounds very interesting, drop me a link when you’ve completed it and I’ll have a read. I knew you’d love the Powers covers as much as I do and of course I don’t mind you restating your position. See you again my friend, all the best to you.

      Like

  2. John C Nash 09/04/2016 / 9:48 am

    Another fantastic selection of covers. I concur with Guy in the comment above, I love those Richard Powers covers too. But I also love those splendidly psychedelic ones, especially the one for Tongues of The Moon, quite Barbarella-esque!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 10/04/2016 / 8:27 pm

      Many thanks my friend, I suspected that you’d enjoy the more psychedelic covers in this batch although I’m pleased to hear that the Powers covers also caught your eye. I love the painting for Tongues of the Moon but it seems to evoke quite mixed reactions in people who have seen it. I love the Barbarella reference, spot on I reckon – and a great film too! All the best as always.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

