Ace On Sunday #13

Ace Double Header

Last weekend I took a break from my usual Ace Double routine due to a variety of random delays and so today I’m feeling pretty excited to be back choosing a new volume from the shelves for company. My random selection has brought forth serial number H-85 which was published in 1968 and have decided to read Invader On My Back penned by British author Philip E. High.

The blurb from the inside page has this to say;

What are you, stranger from a century to come?

Are you a Delink: Tough, warped, always anti-social, impossible to trust?

Are you a Scuttler: A seemingly nice guy who dares not go out in the daylight, who scuttles along in shadow and fears to look up?

Are you a Stinker: The kind of person everybody wants to kill on sight, someone they’ve got to stamp out in fury real fast?

Are you a Norm: A guy who just wants to get along in the world, and never will with all those others around?

Or are you one of the terrible new ones – a Geek: Who thinks the world is his oyster and that everyone else has got to be crushed… and maybe has the talent to do it?

Intriguing, albeit a little harsh on us geeks I think. The Jack Gaughan cover piece is as brilliant as expected from this great artist and depicts two rocketships flying underneath a rather psychedelic bird. I love the slanted typography used for the title and author’s name too.

Righto, my brew is fresh and my vape is to hand – it’s time I began to read and discover just why we humble geeks have riled Mr High so much. I’ll be back again next Sunday to turn over the book and find out what’s on the flipside so do join me then. Your comments are as always welcome on this title or Ace Doubles as a whole.

Invader On My Back by Philip E. High
(Serial Number H-85)
This version was published in 1968 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

Invader On My Back by Philip E. High

8 thoughts on “Ace On Sunday #13

  1. John C Nash 10/04/2016 / 2:12 pm

    That’s a gorgeous cover! That, combined with the blurb has to make this one a winner. In fact, you’ve tempted me to seek a copy out for myself. I wonder which category I’d fall into? Can we cross-categorise? I quite like the idea of being a Stinky Delink.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 10/04/2016 / 7:28 pm

      Glad you enjoyed this one so much Mr Nash, it is indeed a fabulous cover and a rather good read too. I hope you do manage to track down a copy, some Ace Doubles seem to fetch ridiculous prices when they appear on eBay. Try Abebooks.com too and see if you can pick up a copy there. I’m liking the invention of your new category, I was happy to see the geeks included on the list at first but after reading the book they don’t sound like any geeks I know! All the best my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 10/04/2016 / 7:14 pm

      Thanks Mr Lestaret, I would probably agree with your selection of category there but remain unimpressed by such a negative portrayal of the geeks.

      Like

    • unsubscriber 10/04/2016 / 8:33 pm

      Why thank you Admiral, you’re the second person today that has been prompted to track down a copy of this title! I wish you good luck in your search my friend, all the best.

      Like

  2. lcmt 12/04/2016 / 12:56 pm

    Wonderful cover! And the blurb is even more wonderful! I have always taken great pains to be a Norm, but I think I have a bits of the other four within me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/04/2016 / 7:19 pm

      Glad you liked this one Lin, I think we all have elements of each category within us x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

