Ace On Sunday #14

Ace Double Header

It’s time to flip over the Ace Double book I randomly selected from the shelves last week and find out which title I’ll be spending my usual lazy Sunday reading. The title of today’s novel is Destination: Saturn by David Grinnell & Lin Carter. Turning the cover reveals the following blurb printed on the inside page;

In his own way, Ajax Calkins was a modest man. Modestly Wealthy – he was just a multi-billionaire. Modestly ambitious – he only wanted a world of his own. Modestly cooperative – he’d let the rest of the universe alone if they would let him alone.

And he did have a world of his own, too. The strange planetoid Ajaxia with its load of pre-asteroidal science was all his – and even Earth recognised that, provided they could come to an agreement.

But it was the sneaky Saturnians that were upsetting his applecart. Rather than make a deal, they fabricated their own Ajax Calkins, set him up, and walked off with Ajaxia.

That was the sort of thing sure to make Ajax lose his modesty – and set off after his kidnapped world single-handed – with the rest of the Earth-Mars fleet too many million miles in the rear!

I suspect that this one may well turn out to be a ‘romp’, a theory supported by the rather comical Kelly Freas cover featuring the somewhat regally attired Ajax Calkins standing next to his Saturnian imposter.

But now to read and learn how this farcical scenario plays out. If you’ve enjoyed the cover from this wonderful vintage novel then feel free to come back next Sunday when I’ll choose another Ace Double from the library of the unsubscriber. Be sure to share your thoughts in the comments as always.

Destination: Saturn by David Grinnell & Lin Carter
(Serial Number H-85)
This version was published in 1968 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

Destination Saturn by David Grinnell & Lin Carter

6 thoughts on “Ace On Sunday #14

  1. Lestaret 17/04/2016 / 12:32 pm

    Fabulous, I really love the ‘spider pollen’ creature. Very stern.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/04/2016 / 7:24 pm

      Glad to hear you enjoyed this one Mr Lestaret, it’s a pretty kitschy cover but wonderfully executed. All the best.

      Like

  2. John C Nash 17/04/2016 / 7:39 pm

    Lin Carter. That name sounds very familiar but I can’t quite place it. I’m sure I’ve got something of theirs on the shelves. It’s making me think magazine rather than book. That’s going to drive me crazy until I find it now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/04/2016 / 7:28 pm

      Have a look on here Mr Nash – http://www.isfdb.org – I find this a very valuable resource when researching books, authors and artists. All the best in finding an answer to your question my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Guy 17/04/2016 / 9:59 pm

    Hi

    I really enjoyed Invaders, it reminded me of Eric Frank Russell’s work. I read High’s Mad Metropolis Ace M-135 and recall enjoying it as well. I certainly plan on reading more of High’s work. Wollheim published a number of Ace titles as David Grinnell, I liked Edge of Time Ace D-362, a great romp, I am not sure whether adding Lin Carter will help, but the Freas cover is great.

    Happy Reading
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/04/2016 / 7:34 pm

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts as ever Guy, great to hear you enjoyed Invaders and it’s rather brilliant cover too. I’ve also read Mad Metropolis and a few other titles by High, all of them very decent. I certainly have a few other Ace novels by David Grinnell and this one compares most favourably. More to come soon, all the best and look forward to more comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

