Tales Of Horror And The Supernatural; Volume One

Several months ago, my good friend Mr Nash over at the rather wonderful When Churchyards Yawn blog wrote an illuminating piece on a book called The Horror Horn by E. F. Benson (here) which sent me scrambling to the shelves in order to retrieve my copy. I duly re-read the book and began to explore the rest of my library shelves containing horror and supernatural titles which I have been enjoying ever since alongside the usual SF novels.

After finishing reading several of these volumes I decided it might be a good time to feature some of them here as an update to last year’s three part series (here, here & here) which proved to be just as popular as my usual science fiction offerings.

I hope that you enjoy the covers of this first selection of strange old books as much as I have enjoyed reading them and maybe even decide to track a few of them down for your own collection. I shall return next week with a further half dozen volumes tucked under my arm for your perusal so be sure to join me then. In the meantime, please do share your thoughts in the comments.

Tales Of Horror And The Supernatural by Arthur Machen
This version was published in 1963 by Panther Books
The cover artist is R. J. Reynolds

Tales of Horror & The Supertnatural by Arthur Machen

The Unexpected edited by Leo Margulies
This version was published in 1961 by Pyramid Books
The cover artist is John Schoenherr

The Unexpected edited by Leo Margulies

The Horror Horn by E. F. Benson
This version was published in 1974 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Bruce Pennington

The Horror Horn by E. F. Benson

The Twisters by Vern Hansen
This version was published in 1963 by Digit Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Twisters by Vern Hansen

The Horror From The Hills by Frank Belknap Long
This version was published in 1965 by Brown, Watson Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Horror From The Hills by Frank Belknap Long

Dr. Caligari’s Black Book edited by Peter Haining
This version was published in 1969 by New English Library Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Dr. Caligari's Black Book edited by Peter Haining

5 thoughts on “Tales Of Horror And The Supernatural; Volume One

  1. Guy 20/04/2016 / 12:41 pm

    Hi

    This is great. I have been focusing on collecting some paperback horror anthologies with Powers covers lately. I will have to put something together in May, I am travelling at present. What I found interesting, and I can see in the contents of one of your books here, is how may of the authors are known primarily for SF. I love all three Benson brothers, I remember Horror Horn as a very odd but enjoyable tale. Horror from the Hills had one of the most unusual monsters in the whole Mythos in my mind and I may have to track down a copy of the Unexpected.

    Happy Reading
    Guy

    Liked by 2 people

    • unsubscriber 26/04/2016 / 7:39 pm

      I shall look forward to reading more from you on horror titles with Powers covers Guy. It surprised me too how many SF authors are included in these anthologies and the ones featured in my next post. I definitely thought that Horror From The Hills was one of Belknap Long’s better and more imaginative efforts. Pleased to know you enjoyed this pick of covers overall, there’ll be a second part to follow. All the best as always.

      Like

  2. John C Nash 21/04/2016 / 12:17 am

    What a marvelous collection, right up my particularly dark and sinister street. I keep promising to get myself the earlier Panther editions of Machen but never seem to get around to it (mine are the slightly later ones with the Pennington covers).
    I’ve not seen The Unexpected before, terrific line up by the looks of it, I do like Margaret St. Clair’s work.
    Your Horror Horn looks to be in a far better state of repair than my own tattered and torn edition. (Thankyou very much fr the kind words and the link, by the way. Very kind!)
    I’m going to have to get the Belknap Long, I think. My collection is very limited in Belknap Long. I think I only have the Panther edition of Hounds of Tindalos (another Pennington cover, if memory serves).
    And that Haining!! Like most of us, I have a fair old collection of Hainings on the shelves, but not that one. I must treat myself to a copy of that one too. You’re a bad influence, Mr. Scriber!
    Wonderful post as always. All the very best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/04/2016 / 7:51 pm

      I guessed this one would be of particular interest to you my friend, we certainly have a very large overlap in our reading choices. I’m always on the lookout for early editions of the Machen collections so I’ll let you know if I find any duplicates on my travels. My Horror Horn is indeed in wonderful condition but then I am more than a bit picky about the condition of books I buy. I thought your copy looked great for its wear and tear though, it just added to the character. The Belknap Long is a great title and well worth tracking down, I have a copy of Hounds too but in the 1963 Belmont edition.

      Credit where credit is due for being the spark behind this post old chap, I’m looking forward to seeing more from your blog soon. I can only apologies for being such a bad influence and hope that the next instalment of this post doesn’t lead you into yet more temptation. All the very best Mr Nash.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

