Tales Of Horror And The Supernatural; Volume Two

Welcome to the second selection of horror and supernatural books pulled from the darker corners of my library shelves. Last week I began by presenting a half dozen titles as an update to last year’s three part series (here) and so I thought I’d carry on by listing a further six books I’ve been enjoying since the start of the year.

I’ve started this pick of covers with another Arthur Machen paperback, an author who has remained a perennial favourite of mine through the years since first discovering his work as a teenager. Also included is a rather brilliant collection of strange shorts by Robert Bloch, an omnibus of novellas by John Buchan – also known as Baron Tweedsmuir of Elsfield and a number of anthologies.

Once again, I hope that you appreciate the odd cover art from these weird books as I do. Feel free to let me know what you think in the comments as always and join me again next week for more science fiction frolics.

The Novel Of The Black Seal by Arthur Machen
This version was published in 1965 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Novel Of The Black Seal by Arthur Machen

The Living Demons by Robert Bloch
This version was published in 1967 by Belmont Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Living Demons by Robert Bloch

In The Dead Of Night edited by Michael Sissons
This version was published in 1962 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited

In The Dead Of Night edited by Michael Sissons

6 And The Silent Scream edited by Ivan Howard
This version was published in 1964 by Consul Books
The cover artist is uncredited

6 And The Silent Scream edited by Ivan Howard

The Watcher By The Threshold by John Buchan
This version was published in 1962 by Digit Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Watcher By The Threshold by John Buchan

Tales Of Unease edited by John Burke
This version was published in 1966 by Pan Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Tales Of Unease edited by John Burke

4 thoughts on “Tales Of Horror And The Supernatural; Volume Two

  1. John C Nash 27/04/2016 / 10:06 pm

    Another excellent selection, Mr. Scriber. I have a couple of these on my own shelves, In The Dead Of Night and Tales of Unease by the remarkable John Burke.
    And another incredible Arthur Machen which I don’t have (and must get!), that’s rather a wonderful cover.
    Thanks for sharing these, your blog is a constant source of inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/05/2016 / 1:23 pm

      Why thank you Mr Nash, you’re too kind. I’m just glad to know that there are some folks out there who share my somewhat outré tastes, I look forward to seeing more from your excellent blog too in the future. Best regards as always my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/05/2016 / 1:25 pm

      Many thanks Guy, I’m happy to know you enjoyed this selection and will definitely take a look at your blog post. I’m always interested to read other people’s thoughts on this topic. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

