Off The Shelf; Lester Del Rey

This week’s off the shelf features eight books by US author Lester Del Rey, the pen name used by Minnesota born Leonard Knapp. I got my first taste of his writing via a beautifully illustrated two volume set of his early work issued in 1976, both of which are included below. Del Rey is another fairly prolific writer with dozens of novels and short stories to his name, I’ve never really had any problems tracking down reasonably priced copies of his books. His most active period seems to have been during the 1950s and into the 1960s which means the topics covered by his writing were extremely varied and imaginative.

Here is a selection of some favourite books and covers as chosen from my modest collection. Please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments as ever.

The Early Del Rey Volume 1 by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1976 by Ballantine Books
The cover artists are Tim Hildebrandt and Greg Hildebrandt

The Early Del Rey Vol 1 by Lester Del Rey

The Early Del Rey Volume 2 by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1976 by Ballantine Books
The cover artists are Tim Hildebrandt and Greg Hildebrandt

The Early Del Rey Vol 2 by Lester Del Rey

Nerves by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1956 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Nerves by Lester Del Rey

Siege Perilous by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1966 by Lancer Books
The cover artist is Frank Kelly Freas

Siege Perilous by Lester Del Rey

Tales of Soaring Science Fantasy From “…And Some Were Human” by Lester Del Rey
1961 – Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

And Some Were Human by Lester Del Rey

The Scheme Of Things by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1966 by Belmont Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Scheme Of Thingsby Lester Del Rey

Badge Of Infamy by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1976 by Dennis Dobson Books
The cover artist is Richard Weaver

Badge Of Infamy by Lester Del Rey

The Sky Is Falling by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1974 by New English Library Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Sky Is Falling by Lester Del Rey

6 thoughts on “Off The Shelf; Lester Del Rey

  1. Byopia Press 04/05/2016 / 10:15 pm

    Ah, another trip down memory lane! I am particularly fond of the cover for The Early Delrey: the Hildebrandt Brothers have done some amazing things. I still have this one, though with an immanent attack on the library in view of reducing the weight load on my house it may have to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/05/2016 / 1:29 pm

      Why thank you my friend, I couldn’t resist buying the two Early Del Rey volumes on the basis of the fantastic artwork alone. It’s a shame that you had to let them go, I vowed to never thin my library down many years ago despite it growing out of all proportion. I’d rather live with the clutter than lose any of my precious books. All the best.

      Like

  2. Guy 05/05/2016 / 1:01 am

    Hi

    Del Rey, a great choice. I read “Wind between the Winds” recently and quite enjoyed it. I also read “The Faithful”, which had a real Simak “City” vibe which I always love, so I am a big fan of the 2 vol Early Del Rey set. “Nerves” has one of my favourite Powers covers, and is one of my favourite short stories. I like “And Some Were Human” more and more the longer I look at my copy, I had to dig it out when I saw your post. I like the others especially the Freas but the bright primary colours and stark simplicity of the Weaver is a cover that really draws me in.

    Thanks for this
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/05/2016 / 1:33 pm

      Thanks for sharing your comments as ever Guy, I always look forward to hearing your thoughts. The two Early Del Rey volumes are very much a stand out for me too as are the two Powers covers, I already had a copy of Nerves when this version came up but I loved the artwork so much I had to have it. I always look for Del Rey titles now so maybe there’ll be a follow up to this article later in the year. All the best to you as always.

      Like

  3. lcmt 06/05/2016 / 1:37 pm

    This is a stunning selection of covers! I keep changing my idea about which is my favorite, but I keep coming back to the covers for Nerves, Badge of Infamy, And Some Were Human.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/05/2016 / 1:36 pm

      Thank you Lin, I’m very glad to hear that you liked these covers. Badge of Infamy works so well for me graphically and through its use of stark colours but the two Powers covers are as brilliant as ever. There’s little wonder that his artwork is so highly sought after! All the best as ever x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

