Ace On Sunday #15

Ace Double Header

I’ve been kept from indulging in my usual weekend reading ritual several times over the past month and so I’m very happy to be able to spend this sunny Sunday in the company of a brand new Ace Double from the shelves. Today’s book comes from a set of newer Ace Doubles I picked up from a seller in the states at the end of last year and was originally issued in 1973. Both included titles are by American author Mack Reynolds whose other works I have mainly enjoyed so these should hopefully prove to be good reads. First up is Computer War, the inside blurb is as follows;

The problem with computer warfare is that the computer is always logical while the human enemy is not – or doesn’t have to be.

And that’s what the Betastani enemy were doing – nothing that the Alphaland computers said they would. Those treacherous foremen were avoiding logic and using such unheard of devices as surprise and sabotage. They even had Alphaland’s Deputy of Information believing Betastani propaganda without even realising it.

Of course he still thought he was being loyal to Alphaland, because he thought that one and one must logically add up to two. And that kind of thinking could make him the biggest traitor of them all.

The Ed Valigursky cover for this one is stunning in its use of blue and green, the typography is fantastically groovy in a seventies kind of way too and deserves a mention in its own right.

I’m looking forward to spending the day lazily reading this novel whilst drinking tea and vaping my face off – I hope that your Sunday is well spent too, whatever you decide to get up to. I’ll be back next weekend for another fix of Mack so be sure to join me then. Comments on this title or Ace Doubles in general are more than welcome so do let me know what you think.

Computer War by Mack Reynolds
(Serial Number 11650)
This version was published in 1973 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

Computer War by Mack Reynolds

4 thoughts on “Ace On Sunday #15

  1. Guy 08/05/2016 / 9:27 pm

    Hi

    I will be following along, I have not read Reynolds so I am looking forward to it. I do not have this edition so my handy Ace Double Guide by James Corrick directed me to H-34 instead. Sadly this copy has a rather blah photo montage cover by to von Zitzewitz rather than the spiffy Ed Valigursky of your edition, which I will be looking for.

    Happy Reading
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/05/2016 / 1:41 pm

      Good to know I wasn’t alone in reading this one Guy, I too have H-34 but this version was amongst a job lot I bought from a US dealer at the end of last year. I do like the Zitzewitz artwork but this later version is absolutely stunning so I chose to feature it instead. Hope you enjoyed the novel as I did, best wishes.

      Like

  2. Joachim Boaz 09/05/2016 / 1:53 am

    I’ve always loved this Valigursky cover — perhaps the incredible depth of field achieved in this space via the vertical lines…. It’s quite evocative!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/05/2016 / 1:43 pm

      It certainly is a stunning cover, the depth of field achieved and colours used make the image pop. Glad to hear you’re a fan too Joachim, all the best.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

