Ace On Sunday #16

Ace Double Header

Thanks for joining me this Sunday for another Ace Double, I’m continuing to read the reverse of the book I selected last weekend – Computer War by Mack Reynolds. This book contains another Reynolds novel on the flipside which makes this selection a true double. Time to open the cover and find out what the inside blurb has to say;

Section G, the top secret security unit of United Planets, had a special problem on their hands with the situation on Firenze. And for that special problem, they gathered together the most unusual squad in Section G’s unusual history. It Included;

A research biologist who could bend steel bars like rubber bands –

A middle aged lady with total total recall –

An interplanetary cowboy whose bullwhip was deadlier than a ray gun –

A brazen young lady acrobat who looked like an eight year old kid –

A mild young man who never lost a bet in his life –

And the best pickpocket that ever lived.

But Firenze with its CODE DUELLO was to prove a match for the lot of them!

Sounds like another romp to me then… bring it on Mr Reynolds! The cover features more groovy seventies typography like its predecessor and a sterling inset painting from the ever reliable Frank Kelly Freas depicting an astronaut brandishing a smoking ray gun amongst several towering obelisks.

And so now it’s time to make a fresh brew before diving between the slightly musty covers. Feel free to come back next weekend when I’ll be pulling out a fresh new Ace Double to enjoy. I hope that you’re enjoying these random selections from my library shelves, let me know what you think as always in the comments.

Code Duello by Mack Reynolds
(Serial Number 11650)
This version was published in 1973 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Frank Kelly Freas

Code Duello by Mack Reynolds

4 thoughts on “Ace On Sunday #16

  1. Joachim Boaz 16/05/2016 / 3:53 am

    Another great cover — especially the buildings rearing with the forced perspective…

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 16/05/2016 / 11:42 am

      Thanks Joachim, I like this one for exactly the same reason. It was a decent read too which is always a bonus!

      Like

  2. Guy 21/05/2016 / 3:29 pm

    Hi

    Code Duello did have a nice cover. I preferred Computer War, I found having such an ineffectual narrator unusual and the resistance tactics interesting. I borrowed Code Duello from a friend who also lent me Section G: United Planets, I found the series a bit farcical for me especially after three such similar plots. Reynolds obviously is really interested in politics and history and loves building political systems. The diaspora of humanity to the stars is a recurring theme so I am happy to have read Reynolds contribution to this theme.

    Happy Reading
    Guy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/06/2016 / 6:36 am

      Thanks as always for your erudite comments Guy, I completely agree that Computer War was the better novel of the two here. I haven’t read Section G: United Planets so thanks for the warning! I’m enjoying this excursion through my Ace Doubles immensely and am glad to hear that you’re very familiar with the majority of my choices so far. It’s a pleasure to have you along for the ride my friend, more to come soon – All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

