The Eye Of The Lens by Langdon Jones

Several weeks ago, I read a great review of an extremely intriguing collection of shorts by Langdon Jones over at the always wonderful Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations blog (here). The blog’s progenitor, Joachim Boaz is definitely one of my favourite reviewers working in this area due to his detailed writing style and also his keen eye for great cover art. This book was no exception, not only did it rate quite highly overall but the featured cover illustration for the 1972 version was stunning.

I decided to hop over to eBay immediately and see if there was a copy floating around at a decent price. Incredibly, there was a single auction for the aforementioned 1972 Macmillan first edition in hardback which was due to finish a few days later. I decided to put in a low ’holding’ bid for the starting price of £4.50 as I expected to be outbid almost immediately and waited. I was astonished to discover that no other bids had been made when I checked on the auction again ten minutes before completion, even more so when my opening bid was accepted shortly afterwards!

The book arrived with me just before the weekend and so I decided to include some photographs here before I get a proper chance to read it. Regular visitors to this humble blog will know that I don’t do reviews here and concentrate on cover artwork instead, I leave all the hard work to talented writers such as Joachim Boaz instead so be sure to check out the link above if you’d like to know more about this book.

The front cover piece is wonderfully post-psychedelic and totally fitting for a collection of such experimental, new wave SF. I particularly like how the main illustration bleeds over onto the spine which I hope comes across in the photograph below. I’ve also included a shot taken of page 74 which gives an idea of the more radical directions these works take.

Thanks goes as always to Joachim for his good taste and great writing for bringing this fantastic book to my attention, I’m looking forward to reading this one as soon as possible. Let me know what you think of this beauty in the comments and be sure to join me next week for more vintage cover art.

The Eye Of The Lens by Langdon Jones
This version was published in 1972 by Macmillan Books
The cover artist is Richard Jones

The Eye Of The Lens by Langdon Jones

The Eye Of The Lens Page Illustration

4 thoughts on “The Eye Of The Lens by Langdon Jones

  1. Joachim Boaz 25/05/2016 / 7:36 pm

    The cover proper illustrates the BEST story in the collection — “The Hall of the Machines” which is the first part of the loose story trilogy “The Eye of the Lens.” Apparently, the final story in the collection was one of the reasons New Worlds was momentarily banned in Australia — there are some weird undercurrents/implications for sure…

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 25/05/2016 / 8:34 pm

      I’m really looking forward to reading this as soon as possible Joachim, your reviews have inspired me to seek out books on several occasions now so I wanted to give you some credit. Hope you enjoyed the photos too, my copy was in VG+ condition so only needed minor post processing. Here’s to being another bad influence my friend.

      Like

      • Joachim Boaz 25/05/2016 / 8:58 pm

        No problem! Thanks for the kind words.

        I hope you enjoy the collection — I would like to know what you think about it (very very New Wave — as you gathered from my review).

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 25/05/2016 / 9:22 pm

        You’re more than welcome Joachim, I always enjoy reading your reviews and adding the good ones to my list. I’ll be sure to let you know once I’ve read this one, I’m a huge fan of the New Wave writers so I think I’ll get on with this very well. All the best as always.

        Like

Leave a Reply

