Off The Shelf; Keith Laumer

Keith Laumer Portrait

The next author to come under the spotlight as part of this ongoing mini-series is Keith Laumer who is probably familiar to many for his Retief novels. I first discovered him via a rather tatty copy of A Plague Of Demons which I picked up in a dusty old bookshop one rainy afternoon. I must admit that I bought it mainly for the cover as it was the 1967 Penguin version with an illustration by Alan Aldridge but I did rather enjoy reading it following my purchase.

Since then, I have replaced my battered copy of this book with a much tidier copy and have also expanded my collection of Laumer’s writings considerably. I haven’t included this novel here though as it was featured as part of an earlier article on the Penguin/Aldridge series which can be found here if you’d like to see it.

I’ve become more aware of his output through Berkley Medallion recently due to the fact that a great deal of these publications were illustrated by Richard Powers. They tend to be quite hard to come across being US versions so consequently fetch higher prices once shipping is factored in.

So, onto the covers! I’ve selected eight titles as usual, each one featuring particularly eye-catching artwork. The first four books presented below are pulled from my modest collection of Berkley Medallions for all you Powers fans out there.

I’ll be back again soon with another Off The Shelf selection so be sure to follow the blog to receive notifications of all new posts. Let me know what you think of this week’s covers in the comments too, your feedback is always greatly appreciated.

The Shape Changer by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1973 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Shape Changer by Keith Laumer

The Infinite Cage by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1974 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Infinite Cage by Keith Laumer

Time Trap by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1970 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Time Trap by Keith Laumer

It’s A Mad, Mad, Mad Galaxy by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1968 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

It's a Mad, Mad, Mad Galaxy by Keith Laumer

Galactic Odyssey by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1970 by Mayflower Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

Galactic Odyssey by Keith Laumer

Nine By Laumer by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1970 by Sphere Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Nine By Laumer by Keith Laumer

A Trace Of Memory by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1968 by Mayflower Books
The cover artist is uncredited

A Trace Of Memory by Keith Laumer

The Great Time Machine Hoax by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1965 by Pocket Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Great Time Machine Hoax by Keith Laumer

3 thoughts on “Off The Shelf; Keith Laumer

  1. John C Nash 09/06/2016 / 9:57 am

    Yet another wonderful collection, Mr, Scriber. That cover for ‘It’s a Mad, Mad Galaxy’ is a particular corker. We may have discussed this before (my memory is not always what it should be), but that cover for The Infinite Cage is very reminiscent of the transformation scene in Ken Russell’s Altered States. As the film came along six years after that book cover it makes me wonder if it was an inspiration.

    Like

  2. Guy 09/06/2016 / 11:42 pm

    Hi

    I enjoyed A Plague of Demons, review and some covers on Jagged Orbit, and it did encourage me to get more of his books. The covers here for It’s A Mad, Mad, Mad Galaxy and Nine by Laumer are quite nice. I have to say I find the cover for Galactic Odyssey horrific and not in a good way. A thought provoking post as always and lots of fun covers.

    Happy Reading
    Guy

    Like

  3. lcmt 10/06/2016 / 10:10 pm

    These are so inspiring! My favorite is the Richard Power’s cover for It’s A Mad, Mad, Mad Galaxy, closely followed by Time Trap. I am really quite tempted to try my hand at a cover for A Plague of Demons, just for the fun of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

